Shull Dedication

Donors web

Front row, from left: Deanna Dawson, Kim York, Maria Davies, Ruth Johnson, Allison Scott, Mary Shatford, Don Shull, Dr. Michelle Hofmann, and Sarah Pettengill. In the back row: Leo Anderson, Matt Hocker, Susan Edmonsond, Kim Bailey, Ryan Wescoat, Pam Steele, Larry Dobson, Scott Dobson, Laura Monsees, Dr. Kari Monsees, and Dr. Bryan Pettengill.

District dedicates Shull Early Learning Center

On Aug. 17, the District dedicated the Shull Early Learning Center. The event began with a welcome by Superintendent Dr. Kari Monsees, who introduced past and present School Board members, and retired Superintendent Don Shull, the school's namesake. 

Intro web
Emery web

Dr. Monsees told about the District's expansion of early childhood programs at the Shull school. Following his comments, guests were invited to tour the school. The featured highlight was the playground, made possible in part by donations from the Raymore-Peculiar Public School Foundation and the Peculiar Charitable Foundation.

At the annual Gala fundraiser of the Raymore-Peculiar Public School Foundation, attendees donated $9,250 toward extra equipment for the Shull playground. Those donors are: Aly Abdelgawad, Leo Anderson, Rep. Jack Bondon, Allison Bruflat, Nathan Dawson, Larry Dial, 

Playground web

Larry Dobson, Scott Dobson, Sen. Ed Emery, Ross Galbraith, Jean Gelsinger, Matt Hocker, Michelle Hofmann, Melinda Houdyshell, Ruth Johnson, Bill Lowe, Missy Mattingly, Stephen Miller, Laura Monsees, Dick Morris, Steve Pearce, Bryan Pettengill, Marcia Rangel, Allison Scott, Linda Sharp, and Phil Vandeusen.

Asphalt track web
Playground 2 web

The Peculiar Charitable Foundation donated $23,000 for the shade structure on the playground. The Foundation Board includes Mary Dobson, president; Lauren Dobson Peter, vice president; Larry Dobson, secretary; Tom Peter, Scott Dobson, and Becca Dobson, members; and Sharon Shores, trustee.

Playground overview web

Dr. Monsees thanked the design team of incite Design Studio and Henderson Engineers, and Wilcott Construction, the contractor on the project.

Dr. Monsees also gave special thanks to these District staff members: Dr. Bryan Pettengill, Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services; Jay Harris, former assistant superintendent; Dr. Michelle Hofmann, Director of Elementary Education; Mary Shatford, Director of Shull Early Learning Center; Luke Swartwood, Panther Pride Child Care Coordinator; and Scott Dobson, Maintenance Supervisor.