News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: February 12, 2018

Cass County school officials meet with legislators

DSCF4314 image

Representatives from public school districts in Cass County met Friday morning, Feb. 9, with Rep. Rick Brattin, R-55, and Rep. Donna Pfautsch, R-33; to learn more about issues expected to be discussed and considered during the 2018 legislative session. The Belton School District hosted the legislative breakfast.


This is the fourth year for the school districts to join forces under the banner “Cass County Kids First” to develop and endorse a list of legislative priorities.


Due to illness and schedule conflicts, Sen. Ed Emery, R-31, Rep. Jack Bondon, R-56; Rep. Wanda Brown, R-57; and Rep. Jack Runions, D-37 did not attend. The legislators have attended past events sponsored by Cass County Kids First.


Reps. Brattin and Pfautsch briefly addressed the group and answered questions for about an hour.

Representing the Raymore-Peculiar School District at the meeting were: School Board President Kim Bailey, School Board member Ruth Johnson, Superintendent Dr. Kari Monsees, and Board/Superintendent Secretary Pam Steele.

Topics of discussion at the Feb. 9 breakfast included possible legislation related to charter schools and school choice, career and technical education, Tax Increment Financing, a possible increase in the number of hours retired teachers may work for schools, professional development for teachers, and the Missouri Assessment Program. Discussion also focused on some topics not directly related to education, including the collection of sales tax on online purchases and funding for transportation.


As has been the theme since the Cass County Kids First group formed, school officials advocated for local control and proper funding whenever possible.


Cass County Kids First includes the 10 public school districts in Cass County: Archie R-V School District, Belton #124 School District, Drexel R-IV School District, East Lynne 40 School District, Harrisonville School District, Midway R-I School District, Pleasant Hill School District, Raymore-Peculiar School District, Sherwood Cass School District, and Strasburg C-3 School District.


You can find more about the group on Facebook at:, or by following the group on Twitter:


Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Latest News


Please share feedback on school calendar!

Posted on: November 30, 2018
RPEMS SOM September 2018

RPEMS September Students of the Month

Posted on: October 17, 2018
Girls Tennis 2018 District Champs

Tennis team wins District championship

Posted on: October 4, 2018
Eagle Glen castle

Conscious Castle of Eagle Glen

Posted on: October 1, 2018
picture day

School Picture Day is coming

Posted on: August 24, 2018
Students from Little Blessings donate food to CAN

Children donate to CAN program

Posted on: August 9, 2018
BOE award 06202018 image

School Board recognized for awards

Posted on: June 21, 2018
BOE recognition of TSA image

Board honors TSA state champions

Posted on: May 25, 2018
School Road completed image

School Road is open!

Posted on: May 9, 2018
RPHS April SOM image

April Students of the Month at RPHS

Posted on: April 25, 2018
Ray-Pec Cares book drive flyer image

Ray-Pec Cares seeks book donations

Posted on: April 19, 2018
The Nerd

RPHS to present comedy, 'The Nerd'

Posted on: April 5, 2018
I Voted web

Voters approve Prop R-P

Posted on: April 6, 2018
TSA at BOE meeting image

TSA presents plaques to Board members

Posted on: March 27, 2018
TOY apple

Teacher of the Year finalists

Posted on: March 16, 2018
BOE recognition Petrie image

School Board thanks Real Life Church

Posted on: February 23, 2018
DECA group image

Ray-Pec DECA students qualify for state

Posted on: February 13, 2018

Ray-Pec CORP volunteers at Harvesters

Posted on: February 8, 2018
School Board group photo web

School Board Recognition Week

Posted on: January 22, 2018