News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: May 2, 2018

Cass Career Center presents end-of-year awards

CCC Destinee Shehan image

Cass Career Center students received numerous honors at the annual awards night ceremony held April 30. Approximately 500 people attended the event with students from the nine sending school districts receiving awards.

Harrisonville High School senior Nick McCleave was named the All School Outstanding Graduate. McCleave is a student in the Agriculture program at Cass Career Center. His name will go on a plaque which hangs in the main hall at Cass Career Center. He also received an individual plaque, the Joel Mathews Memorial Scholarship, $200, and the CCC Achievement Scholarship, which is given and directed by an anonymous donor for an amount of $1500 to be used for tuition, fees and books.

Harrisonville seniors Kayla Stewart and Lacey Williams were runners-up and each received a $500 CCC Achievement Scholarship.

Several scholarships were presented during the awards ceremony. Recipients included Archie senior Austin Ford and Belton senior Katie Miller, $250 Building Success scholarships; Archie senior Taylor Morton and Harrisonville senior Lanie Carl, $500 Building Success scholarships; Harrisonville senior Lacey Williams, $1000 Building Success scholarship; Harrisonville senior Nick McCleave, John & Wanda Foster Ag scholarship, Samuel A Sloan, Evelyn Sloan, and Beulah Sloan McCoy Scholarship, and Wendell Yeager Rotary Club scholarship; Harrisonville seniors Brennan Travis and Lanie Carl, $500 Harrisonville Chamber of Commerce scholarships; and Ford and Williams, $500 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship; Carl, $1000 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship; McCleave, $4000 Jerry Tabb Memorial Scholarship; and Cass Midway senior Austin Evins and Harrisonville senior Ashley Honderick, $1000 Jon H. Poteat Scholarships.

One student from each of the sending schools was honored as Outstanding Sending School Senior. The recipients of these awards were Adrian senior Remington Pittman, Health Science; Archie senior Taylor Morton, Health Science; Belton senior Roman Stump, Automotive Tech; Cass Midway senior Austin Evins, Construction Tech; Harrisonville senior Nick McCleave, Ag; Lee’s Summit senior Andrew White, Ag; Lone Jack senior Lillian Sherlock, Fire Science; Pleasant Hill senior Andrew Conway, EMT; and Raymore-Peculiar senior Destinee Shehan, Criminal Justice/CSI.

Each program at Cass Career Center recognized an Outstanding Junior and Senior. Those recognized were Harrisonville senior Nick McCleave and Harrisonville junior Michelle Mars, Agriculture; Raymore-Peculiar senior Quentin Thompson and Belton junior Katherine Dameron, Automotive Technology; Belton senior Jenna Wyatt and Harrisonville junior Ariel Hosman, Criminal Justice/CSI; Midway senior Dawsen Zumwalt and Lone Jack junior Tyler West, Construction Technology; Adrian senior Courtney Jones and Belton junior Brittni Kilton, English IV; Pleasant Hill senior Andrew Conway and Raymore-Peculiar junior Katelynn Jungling, EMT; Lee's Summit senior Spencer Reiff and junior Erin Wylie, Fire Science; Adrian senior Ashlee Burris, Health Sciences; Harrisonville senior Brooklyn Airrington and Harrisonville junior Madison Barnes, Marketing; Harrisonville senior Logan Fordyce and Lee's Summit junior Caleb McCommon, Math IV; and Lone Jack senior Jacob Wilmoth and Raymore-Peculiar junior Cole Penn, Welding. The Outstanding Senior for each program received a plaque compliments of Hawthorn Bank.

Other awards handed out at the ceremony included Program Performance awards. Instructors also presented graduating seniors with their portfolios. Students’ portfolios included resumes, reference lists, sample applications, letters from CCC Director Jeanette Flanner and the students’ instructors, and certificates of program completion.

Forty-nine students earned a Gold Level of Achievement for their portfolio. To achieve this status, students must maintain a grade of at least 90 percent or higher through third quarter, complete four semesters at CCC, have a 95 percent attendance rate, and have no suspensions their senior year. Those earning the Gold Level of Achievement were Brooklyn Airrington, Austin Anderson, Cody Anderson, Taylor Anderson, Bharles Baikie, Seth Barbarick, Alexander Bearden, Brennan Bradley, Zachary Braun, Riley Bridgers, Ashlee Burris, Lanie Carl, Bethany Cox, Katelin Cranmer, Olivia Daniel, Kelsie Donovan, Logan Fordyce, Hunter Biles, Victoria Gurera, Jacob Harris, Savana Hayward, Courtney Jones, Jessica Karg, Gavin Lee, Savannah Licht, Makenzi Lockhart, Chrysalin Martin, Nick McCleave, Katie Miller, Noah Mills, Taylor Morton, Andrew Mulvey, Mikayla Norman, Remington Pittman, Spencer Reiff, Johana Rosas, William Sears, Jennifer Stewart, Roman Stump, Quentin Thompson, Sophia Tibbetts, Susanna Tracy, Brennan Travis, Joel Vaccaro, Andrew White, Lacey Williams, CArter Wright, and Jenna Wyatt.

Photo: One student from each of the sending schools was honored as Outstanding Sending School Senior. The recipients of this award from the Ray-Pec School District was senior Destinee Shehan, who is in the Criminal Justice/CSI program. She is pictured with Ray-Pec High School Associate Principal Kristina Martin.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Latest News

Kindergarten Roundup

Kindergarten Roundup is March 27

Posted on: February 25, 2019
Miles Sellami at March 25 2019 BOE meeting

Board honors spelling champion

Posted on: March 26, 2019

Congresswoman Hartzler visits Ray-Pec

Posted on: March 15, 2019
pi day

Happy Pi Day!

Posted on: March 14, 2019

Summer School planning is under way

Posted on: March 8, 2019
BOE recognition Aubri

School Board honors volleyball coach

Posted on: March 4, 2019
Bridle Ridge Mustang Team

Bridle Ridge students learn about empathy

Posted on: February 20, 2019
See How They Run image

RPHS to present comedy "See How They Run"

Posted on: February 11, 2019
FBLA group pic

Ray-Pec FBLA students qualify for state

Posted on: February 14, 2019
BOE recognition Janae Thurston 4

Board honors RPHS Senior Janae Thurston

Posted on: January 25, 2019
BOE 122018 honors XC

School Board honors Cross Country runners

Posted on: December 26, 2018
RPHS SOM December 2018

RPHS honors Students of the Month

Posted on: December 13, 2018

Please share feedback on school calendar!

Posted on: November 30, 2018
RPEMS SOM September 2018

RPEMS September Students of the Month

Posted on: October 17, 2018
Girls Tennis 2018 District Champs

Tennis team wins District championship

Posted on: October 4, 2018
Eagle Glen castle

Conscious Castle of Eagle Glen

Posted on: October 1, 2018
picture day

School Picture Day is coming

Posted on: August 24, 2018
Students from Little Blessings donate food to CAN

Children donate to CAN program

Posted on: August 9, 2018
BOE award 06202018 image

School Board recognized for awards

Posted on: June 21, 2018
BOE recognition of TSA image

Board honors TSA state champions

Posted on: May 25, 2018
School Road completed image

School Road is open!

Posted on: May 9, 2018
RPHS April SOM image

April Students of the Month at RPHS

Posted on: April 25, 2018
Ray-Pec Cares book drive flyer image

Ray-Pec Cares seeks book donations

Posted on: April 19, 2018
The Nerd

RPHS to present comedy, 'The Nerd'

Posted on: April 5, 2018
I Voted web

Voters approve Prop R-P

Posted on: April 6, 2018
TSA at BOE meeting image

TSA presents plaques to Board members

Posted on: March 27, 2018