News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: November 5, 2018

Ray-Pec High School to present musical comedy "The Robber Bridegroom"

Robber Bridegroom image smaller

Raymore-Peculiar High School presents “The Robber Bridegroom”

The Raymore-Peculiar High School Theatre Department announces its fall musical comedy, Alfred Uhry and Robert Waldman’s “The Robber Bridegroom.” Performances will be in the Ray-Pec High School Theatre at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 15, 16, and 17, and at 2:30 p.m. Nov. 18. Tickets may be reserved by calling the box office line, 892-3999 extension 2400. Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students. Free child care will be provided.

The Robber Bridegroom is a musical comedy told as a southern tall tale. It features a Robin Hood-like robber named Jamie Lockhart and Rosamund, the girl who steals his heart. Standing in the way of their romance is Rosamund’s evil stepmother, Salome, a woman described as so terrible that one glance from her caused every bullfrog in Yazoo City to drop dead of heart failure, and Little Harp, the bumbling robber rival to Jamie Lockhart who functions as the muscle to the dreaded Harp Gang. Further complicating their situation is Jamie’s own belief that marriage is something someone does to enrich himself rather than something someone does for love. It’s left to Rosamund to help him understand the riches that true love has to offer.

First performed in New York in 1975, and recently revived in 2016, the show features outlandishly comical characters and a delightfully catchy score that combines pop hooks with the stylings of bluegrass music. The Robber Bridegroom is a knee-slapping, toe-tapping good time.

The cast includes Seth Kelley as Jamie Lockhart, Kylie Hansen as Rosamund, Ella Schnake as Salome, Matthew Stewart as Clement Musgrove, Cooper Carson as Little Harp, Robbie Keays as Big Harp, Spencer Barr as Goat, Tayler Bates as the Raven, Angel Patterson as Goat’s Mother, Paige Showen as Airee, Denton Meehan as the Caller, Ian Van Horn as the Landlord, and Larissa Wratney as the Landlord’s Wife. The Deeper in the Woods Singers are Dalton Apel, Isabelle Burton, Chloe Coons, Katie Clewell, Denton Meehan, Grace Millard, and Sam Reicher.

Members of the town of Rodney, Mississippi, include Abby Ball, Payton Ballinger, Jasmyn Berry, Cole Blankenship, Jacob Boyd, Jadyn Bramble, Olivia Burton, Maggie Carlson, Tevin Chavez, Dylan DeLeon, Hunter Diepenbrock, Ben Dixon, Caitlyn Ebert, Nathan Eckert, Ashlyn Hamblin, Spencer Harris, Alec Heriford, Jillian Humke, Jaren Jones, Cameron Lowe, Aidan Martel, Bailey Martin, Grace O’Brien, Devyn Phillips, Kerstin Randolph, Jaycee Robertson, Kaylee Schaeffer, Ashley Sclesky, Jackson Shepard, Zoe

Shriner, Bradley Simmons, Jaci Stratton, Jeffrey Sykes, Savannah Taylor, Sasha Trujillo, Jada Weber, Kayla Williams, Samantha Williams, Carinne Williams, and Riley Woodson.

Working behind the scenes are Teacher Todd Schnake as the director, Teacher Stephen Rew as the

music director, Teacher Karla Penechar as the scenic designer and technical director, and Teacher Pam

Schnake, and Patrons Kay Connelly and Michael Connelly as production assistants. The choreographer is

Abigail Ball with assistance from Spencer Harris and Savannah Taylor. The assistant directors are students Molly Loman, Bobbi Posey, and Carly Toler. The stage manager is Zach Scott with assistance from Blake Oser. The sound engineer is Nick Hime. The master carpenter is Spencer Barr. Props masters are Becca Bessette and Zach Scott. The master electrician and lighting designer is Riley Linn. Follow spot operators are Sam Steinke and Colby Stosberg. The costume designer is Ce Ce Moss.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Latest News

RPEMS SOM September 2018

RPEMS September Students of the Month

Posted on: October 17, 2018
Girls Tennis 2018 District Champs

Tennis team wins District championship

Posted on: October 4, 2018
Eagle Glen castle

Conscious Castle of Eagle Glen

Posted on: October 1, 2018
picture day

School Picture Day is coming

Posted on: August 24, 2018
Students from Little Blessings donate food to CAN

Children donate to CAN program

Posted on: August 9, 2018
BOE award 06202018 image

School Board recognized for awards

Posted on: June 21, 2018
BOE recognition of TSA image

Board honors TSA state champions

Posted on: May 25, 2018
School Road completed image

School Road is open!

Posted on: May 9, 2018
RPHS April SOM image

April Students of the Month at RPHS

Posted on: April 25, 2018
Ray-Pec Cares book drive flyer image

Ray-Pec Cares seeks book donations

Posted on: April 19, 2018
The Nerd

RPHS to present comedy, 'The Nerd'

Posted on: April 5, 2018
I Voted web

Voters approve Prop R-P

Posted on: April 6, 2018
TSA at BOE meeting image

TSA presents plaques to Board members

Posted on: March 27, 2018
TOY apple

Teacher of the Year finalists

Posted on: March 16, 2018
BOE recognition Petrie image

School Board thanks Real Life Church

Posted on: February 23, 2018
DECA group image

Ray-Pec DECA students qualify for state

Posted on: February 13, 2018

Ray-Pec CORP volunteers at Harvesters

Posted on: February 8, 2018
School Board group photo web

School Board Recognition Week

Posted on: January 22, 2018