News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: April 23, 2020

Scott Jermain Named 2020 Paul Lambert Coach of the Year

Scott Jermain

Scott Jermain, head boys basketball coach at Raymore-Peculiar High School has been named the recipient of the 2020 Paul Lambert Coach of the Year Award. The award is presented annually to the top high school boys basketball coach in the Kansas City metro and is selected by a committee, including retired William Jewell men’s basketball coach Larry Holley. Because of COVID-19, no onsite presentation was made.

This season Jermain’s team finished with a 25-4 record, the most wins in 25 years for Ray-Pec. The Panthers were undefeated at home, champions of the Cardinal Division of the William Jewell High School Holiday Classic, District 13 and the Suburban Big 6 Conference, while advancing to the Missouri Class 5 quarterfinals. Additionally, the Panthers were ranked No. 1 in the Kansas City metro by 810 Varsity for five weeks.

The 2019-2020 season was Jermain’s 14th at the helm of the Raymore-Peculiar program. He was also named Coach of the Year in the Suburban Conference Gold Division for the third time as well as District Coach of the Year. He is the second Raymore-Peculiar coach to win the award, joining Bill Lenz in 1992.

Jermain began his coaching career as a student assistant coach at Northwest Missouri State University followed by one year as an assistant coach at William Jewell College and six years as the head coach at Pleasant Hill High School before moving on to Raymore-Peculiar. He is a graduate of Northwest Missouri State, married to wife Dana has three children, including his son Jordan who was a first team All-State selection for the Panthers this season.

The Paul Lambert Award is named after Paul Lambert Jr., a 1956 graduate of William Jewell College. Lambert died tragically in a hotel fire in 1978 and his widow, Carol Lambert Spence, established the award in his memory through William Jewell College. His coaching career began at the high school level in Moberly, Mo. and he coached at Drake University, Pittsburg State (KS), Hardin-Simmons (TX) and Southern Illinois. He had just accepted the head coaching position at Auburn University at the time of his death.

Previous Award Winners:

1984          Randy Springs, Wyandotte                                  2002       Roger Stirtz, Liberty

1985          Harold Brown, Lathrop                                         2003       Bud Lathrop, Raytown South

1986          Sherman Wofford, Ruskin                                   2004       John McFall, Olathe South

1987          Doug Bruce, Rockhurst                                         2005       Todd Maguire, O’Hara

1988          Glen McDonald, Lee’s Summit                            2006       Kevin Nichols, Cameron

1989          Doug Bruce, Rockhurst                                         2007       Gerry Marlin, Ruskin

1990          Bud Lathrop, Raytown-South                              2008       Mark Scanlon, Raytown

1991          Dan Miller, Hickman Mills                                   2009       Randy Farris, Grandview

1992       Bill Lenz, Raymore-Peculiar                                 2010       Rich Zych, Bishop Miege

1993       Chuck Minor, Schlagle                                          2011       Dan Parra, Sumner Academy

1994       Steve Broughton, Truman                                    2012       Ed Fritz, Blue Valley Northwest

1995       Mark Scanlon, Raytown                                       2013       Mark Nusbaum, Rockhurst

1996       John McFall, Olathe South                                  2014       Rod Briggs, Lansing

1997       Rick Allison, Pembroke Hill                                  2015       Dan Parra, Park Hill South

1998       Mark Nusbaum, Liberty                                        2016       Blake Little, Lee’s Summit

1999       Rick Zych, Bishop Miege                                       2017       Rick Zych, Bishop Miege

2000       Jed Frost, Park Hill South                                     2018       Reggie Morris, Grandview

2001       Rick Zych, Bishop Miege                                       2019       Reggie Morris, Grandview


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Latest News

Laser ray 1

7th graders learn about laser rays

Posted on: April 12, 2021
Senior DRIVE image

Volunteers needed!

Posted on: April 7, 2021
Optimist Club donate to RPF

Optimist Club donates to CAN

Posted on: March 19, 2021
St Patricks Day

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

Posted on: March 17, 2021
Mac Northcraft

Fifth grader wins District Spelling Bee

Posted on: January 25, 2021
Updated 2020-21 calendar

School Board adjusts 2020-2021 calendar

Posted on: November 24, 2020
Needed_ Substitute Teachers

Needed: Substitute teachers

Posted on: November 19, 2020

School Board meetings this week

Posted on: November 17, 2020
Luke Voelker running in the 2020 state cross country meet

Luke Voelker places 6th at state

Posted on: November 11, 2020
Ashlyn Smith running at 2020 state cross country meet

Ashlyn Smith places 8th at state

Posted on: November 11, 2020
Audit graphic

District receives clean audit

Posted on: November 3, 2020
Fall 2020 sports program

Fall Sports Program now available

Posted on: October 23, 2020
Brendan Fuller

Brendan Fuller named Commended Student

Posted on: September 29, 2020

Ray-Pec conducts community survey

Posted on: September 18, 2020
important announcement

RPEMS student tests positive for COVID-19

Posted on: September 25, 2020
Football on 091820

Watch Sept. 25 football game online

Posted on: September 25, 2020
Wanted substitute teachers

Another way to become a substitute teacher

Posted on: September 21, 2020
2nd Gr LEAP at Creekmoor 2

Second graders learn coding with Ozobots

Posted on: September 21, 2020
Superintendent Dr. Mike Slage at EG car rider line

Good morning, Ray-Pec families!

Posted on: September 9, 2020
Board honors IB diploma grads

Board honors I.B. diploma graduates

Posted on: August 28, 2020
Dr. Slagle at CM first day

First day of school

Posted on: August 26, 2020
Untitled design (2)

Improving air quality in our schools

Posted on: July 31, 2020
Tom Kruse at June BOE meeting

School Board congratulates Tom Kruse

Posted on: June 26, 2020

Board members take oath of office

Posted on: June 12, 2020
IE NQ 2020

Nine from RPHS qualify for NSDA

Posted on: May 5, 2020

School Board to have virtual meeting

Posted on: April 21, 2020